Just another WordPress.com site


Another tradition of New Years is to make resolutions.  On one hand I find this annoying.  For the next few weeks the Rec center will be crowded and almost unbearable, as people vow to get those holiday pounds to disappear.  As the month of January comes to an end the crowd will dwindle, for which I’m not going to lie, I’m thankful.

On the other hand I also like making resolutions, and like most people I probably don’t do as good of a job as keeping them as I should.  But nonetheless it is still good to think about.

So some of my resolutions are:

~to be greener.  There are many new services in Lubbock that make this easier.  Two that I have found are www.painlessrecycling.com and www.greenqueens.org .  Both of these companies will come pick up your recycling material and it doesn’t even have to be sorted.  I mean, it really can’t be much easier than that!  There are also recycling bins at Market Street and the United on 82nd and Frankford.  I believed as a child of the universe I should take care of this earth, it was beautifully knit together by our wonderful Creator and if I can do my part to make a greener and healthier place to live I should.  I think the majority of people associate caring about the earth with a more “hippie” way of life.  My question is though, why aren’t more Christians concerned with what is going on in our environment?  Haven’t we been given a beautiful place to live and shouldn’t we be good stewards of what has been given to us? “God spoke: ‘Earth, green up!  Grow all varieties of seed-bearing plants, every sort of fruit-bearing tree.’  And there it was.” ~Genesis 1:11~ The Message   I don’t believe that as a whole Christians are doing their part to preserve our beautiful planet.  So, with all that said, recycle, it’s not even an inconvenience these days!

~Such a great picture~

~Another resolution…to run a half marathon.  I don’t know that I will be ready by this March of April, but I am going to do my best to get to that point:)  Another incentive is that I will get to visit on of my bff Megan and her awesome husband Jake while I’m down there running.  That is enough motivation all on its own.

New running shoes…:)  It seems people have very strong feelings about these shoes, and usually very strong negative feelings, but I love them, and everyone I know that has a pair thinks they are awesome, so think what you will.

~I also want to spend more time baking:), which may sound ridiculous to some people, but it is a true passion of mine and I hope to open up a bakery at some point in my life with Meg.  I also know some awesome photographers that could do all of our advertisement stuff;)  Megan and I are starting a baking blog that I am very excited about!  More info on that to come soon!

~I resolve to not shop at Wal-Mart…I loathe the place and could go on and on about why I feel the way I do…feel free to comment, I am all ears and like hearing different thoughts, feelings and opinions on the matter.

~The last resolution type thing I have is to not use any artificial sweetener type things.  I love them…SO MUCH…but they are just bad for the body and unnecessary.  There are also many natural things out there that can be used.

~So, Happy New Year, and good luck to all those with new resolutions:)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

~nimariema~

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

