Just another WordPress.com site

“homesick”

It’s strange to me to that I can be so “homesick” for a place that I have been to only twice.  My heart aches to be there, and as I look through the thousands of pictures I took while there my vision is clouded with tears…tears of happiness and sadness and longing and frustration and a joy I can’t really describe in words or feelings.  It’s just something deep within me, like a part of me has always been there, or was left there, and at some point I must go back, I must not forget, even though honestly it’s quite painful to remember at times.  Painful, because it’s seems I have blinked and time has passed right before my eyes.  I don’t want to live in the past or glorify those days in any way, but I am so very thankful for them.  China changed my life.  The people I went with changed my life.  The people that surrounded me changed my life.  I have not been, nor will ever be the person I was before I left.  On June 3, a great man, someone I learned so much from in a short time, died.  I wish I could describe him on here in a way that would be adequate, but it’s just not possible.  He made me want to love Jesus more.  He challenged me and encouraged me, and frankly made me laugh.  He was firm in what he believed, yet was willing to be open and vulnerable to those around him. He encourages me, and inspires me to continue to cling to what is important to me, and to LIVE IT OUT EVERYDAY.  It’s been really hard for me to make any sort of sense of how I feel and to get it into words, and this is the best I could do.

DL, thank you.

 

 

 

 


 

~nimariema~

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

